International Students House

International Students House (ISH), established in 1965, is a charity dedicated to helping international students to achieve the academic, leadership, and personal aims that have brought them to the United Kingdom.

International Students House logo

ISH aims to provide the best possible opportunities for international students to experience the many facets of life in the UK, give them a deeper understanding of British society, and give British students an opportunity to broaden their horizons through friendship with people from widely differing backgrounds and cultures. By these means, ISH makes an effective contribution to better international relations and promotes global friendship and understanding.

Chevening and ISH

ISH says:

‘International Students House will benefit from our involvement with Chevening  in that we will be able to add additional scope to our scholarship programme by including scholars who meet the aims of the Chevening scheme, which is to select scholars who demonstrate the greatest potential to become leaders, decision-makers, and opinion-formers in their own countries.


‘We consider our investment to our scholarship students more valuable than gold, silver, oil, or any other commodity, because as they grow through their education and experience in the UK, they will hopefully help transform their communities back home.’

Who does ISH support?

As well as offering Chevening Scholars the opportunity to stay at ISH throughout their year in the UK, ISH are generously co-funding a Chevening Award.

This award will provide up to 12 months’ accommodation in a single room at ISH.

Applicants from the following Chevening-eligible countries who are accepted to study at a London-based university will be considered for the award:

Southeast Asia

  • Indonesia
  • Philippines
  • East Timor
  • Cambodia
  • Laos
  • Myanmar
  • Vietnam

Central America

  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Nicaragua
  • El Salvador


  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • São Tomé and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe