Climate Adaptation and Resilience (CLARE) at the FCDO

Climate Adaptation and Resilience (CLARE) is dedicated to tackling barriers associated with climate change and managing risks from natural hazards. CLARE will sponsor 10 Chevening Scholars from Sub-Saharan Africa and the Indo-Pacific to study a climate science or adaptation and resilience related master’s degree.

CLARE is a partnership between the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) and the International Development Research Centre (IDRC), Canada.

Through research, CLARE delivers knowledge, data, and tools that focus on tackling real-world barriers to adapting to climate change and managing risks from natural hazards, particularly for the poor and vulnerable across Africa and Asia Pacific.

CLARE says:

“By supporting scholars from Africa and the Indo-Pacific, CLARE will help to strengthen research that promotes socially inclusive and sustainable action to build resilience towards climate change and risks from natural hazards.

This partnership reflects CLARE’s mission to increase agency in the Global South to conduct and use research for adaptation action.”

Which subject areas does the partnership support?

CLARE will co-sponsor 10 awards for scholars studying a climate science or adaptation and resilience related master’s course (please note: this partnership does not support courses solely related to climate mitigation, i.e. emission-reduction).

The course can be studied at any university.

Which countries are eligible for an award?

Sub-Saharan Africa:

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Democratic Republic), Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Réunion, Rwanda, Sao, Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.


Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Timor-Leste, Micronesia, Fiji, China, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Niue, Palau, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Sri Lanka, Solomon Islands, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, and Vietnam.