The Royal Agricultural University

The Royal Agricultural University (RAU) has been at the forefront of agricultural education, and a key contributor to the land-based sector for more than 170 years.

Founded in 1845, the University prides itself on combining the knowledge and industry connections which stem from its rich heritage with an innovative, forward-thinking enterprising approach.

A truly global university, students from over 40 different countries are currently studying at the RAU and our alumni can be found around the world.

Our portfolio of courses have been specifically designed to help students realise their potential, whether they have their sights set on further study or a career in the land-based professions. Our academics care about their subjects and their students. Working alongside business leaders and employers, they deliver courses that provide students with the tools and mind-set they need to embrace the opportunities ahead and play essential, leading roles in shaping the future of the industry on a national and international level.

The RAU is honoured to have been given the Royal seal of approval. Queen Victoria granted a Royal Charter to the College in 1845 and sovereigns have been patrons ever since. His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales became President in 1982 and presented awards to students at Graduation in 2015.

Set on the edge of Cirencester in the beautiful Cotswold countryside, our small size provides a real sense of community amongst students and staff, which supports, develops and encourages students from all backgrounds to achieve their ambitions.

Visit to find out more.

Who do the Royal Agricultural University support?

In the academic year 2019/20, Chevening-RAU scholarships will be offered to applicants from the following countries:

  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic (CAR)
  • Chad
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Cote d'Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Who will be studying the following degrees at the RAU:

  • MSc Sustainable Agriculture and Food Security
  • MSc Agricultural Technology and Innovation
  • MBA International Food and Agribusiness

Other opportunities with the Royal Agricultural University and Chevening:

In addition to the Chevening-RAU scholarship, the RAU also welcomes applications from any Chevening-eligible country for any of our eligible postgraduate courses. For more information about the courses we offer go to: