About us

About Chevening Scholarships

Chevening Scholarships are the UK government’s global scholarship programme, funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organisations. The scholarships are awarded to outstanding established or emerging leaders to pursue one-year Master’s degrees (although some awards are for tailor-made short courses) in any subject and at any of the UK’s leading universities.

Chevening Scholarships operate in more than 160 countries and territories worldwide, and this year the programme will support over 1,500 individuals. 

The objective of the Chevening programme

The scholarships are an important element in Britain’s public diplomacy effort and bring young professionals, who have already displayed outstanding leadership talents, to study in the UK. The objective of Chevening is to support foreign policy priorities and achieve FCO objectives by creating lasting positive relationships with future leaders, influencers and decision-makers.

About the UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office

The UK Foreign Commonwealth Office (FCO) has a worldwide network of embassies and consulates, employing over 14,000 people in nearly 270 diplomatic offices. It works with international organisations to promote British interests and global security, including the EU, NATO, the United Nations, the UN Security Council and the Commonwealth.

About the Chevening Secretariat

The Chevening Secretariat administers the awards on behalf of the FCO. The Secretariat is based at Woburn House in London and is part of the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

Secretariat staff

Michael Scott-Kline, Director
Jasmin Osman, Scholarships Assistant

The International team (who liaise with British Embassies and High Commissions in Chevening countries):
Julia Phelps, International Liaison Manager
Emma Spittles, Senior International Liaison Officer
Jacqui Thompson
, Senior International Liaison Officer
Jonathon Greenhow
, International Liaison Officer
Harish Lokhun, International Liaison Officer
Nick Rowland, International Liaison Officer
Jocelyn Smith, International Liaison Officer
Rachel Stevenson, International Liaison Officer 
Mimi Tambi, International Liaison Officer 
Rachel Arnold, International Scholarships Assistant
Natalie Keen, International Scholarships Assistant

The Programme team (who liaise with scholars once selected, and UK universities):
Nyssa Lee-Woolf, Programme Manager
Louise Thomson, Senior Programme Officer
Ceri Waddington, Senior Programme Officer
Benita Ho,
Senior Fellowships Officer
Jennifer McClafferty
, Senior Welfare and Immigration Officer
Ratha Senthinathan, Welfare and Immigration Officer
Frankie Clarke, Programme Officer
Jim Dale, Programme Officer
James Farren, Programme Officer
Katie Finnegan, Programme Officer
Gabriela Gavrila, Programme Officer
James Goldsmith, Programme Officer
Meghan Harper, Programme Officer
Sophie Harries, Programme Officer
Catriona MacArthur, Programme Officer
Dammy Olaniyi, Programme Officer
Robyn Parker, Programme Officer
Nikita Rathod, Programme Officer
Marzana Khanom, Scholarships Assistant
Rebekah Palmer, Scholarships Assistant

The Communications team
David Osei,
Communications Manager
Daniela Chirila, Communications Officer
Daniel Waterfield, Communications Officer

Joanna Rosenzweig, Senior Partnerships and Development Officer
Aba Quartey, Senior Alumni Relations Officer
Urfan Arif, Head of Finance 
Peter Bourdillon, Medical Awards Administrator
Laurence Bette, Senior Records Officer
Julie Stackhouse, Programme Manager (Research and Development)
Hans Rahbek, Senior Information Analyst

Chevening Secretariat job vacancies are advertised on the ACU's website.

Find your Country/Territory

Find out more information on Chevening Scholarships in your country/territory